# Livingston & District AAC

## 2007 AGM & Annual Awards

Wednesday 24<sup>th</sup> October 2007, 7.15 PM Craigswood Sports Centre, Livingston

### MINUTES

#### Members Present: 56 members

#### 1. Opening Remarks

Alison Grey - Thanks to all volunteers and helpers throughout 2006, departing managers, last years Captains, new Coaches.

#### 2. Review of 2007 Season

Committee members and coaches spoke on the following topics:

- Confirm minutes of 2006 meeting (Andy Sneddon)
- Accreditation The club are well on their way to achieving level one accreditation with West Lothian Council. (Andy Sneddon)
- Club of the Year Development Category. The club have been nominated for SAL Team of the Year at their annual awards ceremony on17th November 2007. A contingent of around 10 from the club will attend. (Andy Sneddon)
- Policies are reviewed and up to date including Constitution, Code of Conduct and Child welfare policy (Andy Sneddon)
- Development, LAP and Team Forth Valley The formation of Team West Lothian will go ahead and they compete in the Forth Valley League Division 2. This will be composite team formed from Livingston & District AAC, Lothian RC and Linlithgow AC. As Livingston already compete in Divison 1 of the Forth Valley League, we will use Team Forth Valley as a "B" team for new or inexperienced athletes (Alison Grey)
- Membership and Membership Package update (Sue McDowall)
- Training Sessions (Sandra Hardacre)
- Cross Country (Fred McCluskie)
- Forth Valley League attendance and performance (Sue McDowall)
- Central & South of Scotland League attendance and performance (Alison Grey)
- Website Update (John McOmish)
- Livi Lingo Newsletter update (Robyn McDowall)
- Presidents Appeal for help to run the club (Alistair Dalgleish)
- Finance/Grant initiatives and progress update (David Gisbey)

#### 3. Confirm Competitions for Next Season

- East District Cross Country League
- Scottish Athletics Indoor League
- Forth Valley League

- Central and South of Scotland Athletic League
- Scottish Woman's Athletic League
- National Junior Athletic League
- Club Championships

It was confirmed that the club will continue to compete in the above competitions, however it was noted that the CSSAL was in danger of folding. To counter this, talks were being held by Alison Grey with other interested parties regards an Edinburgh area league being formed.

#### 4 Review 2007 Accounts & Confirm Fees for 2008

Liz Wood talked about the training fees being raised and compared the annual membership fee with other clubs in Scotland. It was noted that the majority of clubs were considerably higher for membership fees.

It was decided however since the accounts showed us in a favourable position compared to last year that no fees would be raised this year. A full statement of audited accounts was presented to the membership which confirmed this position.

It was stated however we would have to match at least this years fund raising efforts to maintain the current balance.

Buses and Craigswood expenditure were still the main draw on funds. Questions remain over the clubs ability to fund buses to league meetings in a sustainable way.

#### 5. Election of Committee & Office Bearers for 2008

Secretary Andy Sneddon asked to stand down this year however no nominations were presented. Andy agreed to continue until a new secretary could be found. Robyn McDowall stepped down and was replaced By Marc Boyd. After nomination and seconding, the committee for 2008 was agreed as:

- Chair Alison Grey
- President Alistair Dalgleish
- Secretary Andy Sneddon
- Treasurer Liz Wood
- Membership Secretary Sue McDowall
- Ordinary Members John McOmish

Marc Boyd David Gisbey

#### 6. Confirm Captains for 2008 Season

Thanks was given to last years captains: Jillian Gisbey, Euan McCormack, Fiona Stewart and Alistair Dalgleish.

2007/08 Junior Captains

- Blair Wood
- Scott Malcolm

2007/08 Senior Captains

- Fiona Stewart
- Marc Boyd

#### 7. Any Other Business

Sue McDowall proposed that Fred McCluskie should be offered an Honorary Life Membership of the club. Seconded by Marc Boyd. Fred gratefully accepted.

Michael Deegan suggested that a bag packing day should be organised again during the year.

#### PRESENTATIONS

#### 1. Annual Performance & Endeavour Trophies

- Best Newcomer
- Female Endeavour
- Male Endeavour
- Young Female
- Young Male
- Female Field
- Male Field
- Female Track
- Male Track
- Female Overall Club Champion
- Male Overall Club Champion
- Presidents Cup

- Rhiannon Armstrong Jillian Gisbey
- Scott Malcolm
- Nikisha Wright
- Chris Nairn
- Vicky Dalziel
- Sam Matheson
- Blair Wood
- Craig McDowall
- Amanda Campbell
- Scott Henderson
- Robyn McDowall