LIVINGSTON & DISTRICT AAC



2008 AGM & ANNUAL AWARDS

Saturday 11th October 2008, 7.00 PM Bankton Scout Hall, Livingston

MINUTES

Members Present: 21 members including Alistair Dalgleish (President), Andy Sneddon (Secretary), Jacqui Sneddon (Treasurer), Sue McDowall (Membership Secretary), Yvonne Crilly, Louise Crilly, Fred McCluskie, Steven Thomson, Robyn McDowall, Craig McDowall, Ian Hardacre, Amanda Campbell and Sharon Grierson.

Apologies: David Gisbey and Marc Boyd

1. Opening Remarks

Alistair Dalgleish welcomed all coaches, athletes and their families to the meeting, and thanked all coaches, committee members, team managers and captains for their work over the last 12 months.

2. Show of Hands & Count Members Present

Andy Sneddon asked for a show of hands by members to establish that there was a sufficient quorum of members to hold the meeting – 21 members were present.

3. Review Minutes of Previous AGM

AS confirmed that the minutes of last year's AGM have been reviewed by the committee and recommended that they be accepted. They are available for members to view on request.

4. Review Club Policies

AS motioned that the club policies on Constitution, Child Welfare and Code of Conduct are accepted for the coming year without change. AD and AS agreed to sign them forthwith to formalise acceptance.

5. Confirm Competitions for Next Season

After last year's AGM, the committee decided for the 2007/08 season to withdraw the club from the Central & South of Scotland Athletic League and instead join the Lothian & Borders League.

The competitions for the 2008/09 season were agreed as

- East District Cross Country League
- Scottish Athletics Indoor League

- Forth Valley League
- Scottish Woman's Athletic League (as part of Team Lothian)
- Lothian & Borders League
- National Junior Athletic League (as part of Team Forth Valley)

6. Review 2008 Accounts & Confirm Fees for 2009

The annual accounts for 2007/08 were presented. AS motioned that the current weekly training fee of £2.50 be maintained and that the annual membership fee remain at £15 for individuals or £30 for a Family. This was agreed.

Steven Thomson queried why there had been a large increase in the affiliation fees. AS replied that was partly due to paying a proportion of the Team West Lothian fees for the Forth Valley League and also due to how Scottish Athletics calculates club affiliation fees based on number of members registered.

7. Election of Committee & Office Bearers for 2009

During the year, Alison Grey, Liz Wood and John McOmish left the committee due to changing personal circumstances. AS asked for nominations to fill the position of Secretary, as he wished to step down to concentrate on coaching, and also for nominations for additional committee members. No nominations were forthcoming. Efforts will continue to find a replacement secretary.

AD agreed to remain on the committee as President - this was approved by Fred McCluskie and seconded by Sue McDowall.

Jacqui Sneddon agreed to remain on the committee as Treasurer – this was approved by Yvonne Crilly and seconded by FMcC.

Marc Boyd and David Gisbey indicated prior to the meeting that they are willing to continue as committee members. This was approved by the membership.

After nomination and seconding, the committee for 2008 was agreed as:

■ President Alistair Dalgleish

■ Secretary Open

Treasurer Jacqui Sneddon
Membership Secretary Sue McDowall
Ordinary Members Marc Boyd
David Gisbey

8. Confirm Captains for 2009 Season

Prior to the meeting, athletes voted for junior and senior captains for the 2008/09 season. These were confirmed as Scott Henderson and Vicky Dalziel as Junior Captains, and AD and Robyn McDowall as Senior Captains.



9. Any Other Business

ST asked about rumours of merging with Lothian Running Club and whether this would be a good idea to optimise coaching and administration resources and also increase competition for young athletes. AS replied that this has been discussed at the Local Athletics Partnership (LAP) meetings. SMcD supported such a move as Lothian could provide support for the club's overworked committee. David Laing warned against such a move based on his own experience in Fife where Pitreavie had become so large that many athletes did not have a chance to take part in competitions. AS advised that the vast majority of Lothian's athletes are adults and a merger would not result in a large increase in junior members. AS motioned that any members who objected to a merger should indicate so. No objections were forthcoming. It was agreed that Lothian RC would be notified of the proposal and the club committee would discuss this issue formally at the next available opportunity.

SMcD formally thanked AD for his excellent work on setting up and maintaining the website, AS for his secretarial and coaching input, JS for her work as Treasurer and also Nancy & Melanie Sneddon for their help with front desk duties and the tuckshop.

10. Closing Remarks

AD thanked everyone present for attending and for their input.

The meeting concluded at 7.30 PM

PRESENTATIONS

1. Club Championship Trophies

- U11G 1st Megan Laing / 2nd Chloe French / 3rd Morna Horn
- U13G 1st Nikisha Wright / 2nd Isla Bruce / 3rd Melanie Sneddon
- U15G 1st Vicky Dalziel / 2nd Rhiannon Armstrong / 3rd equal Eileen Hulse, Alice Fisher and Nancy Sneddon
- U17W 1st Amanda Campbell
- SW 1st Robyn McDowall
- U11B 1st Andrew Turner / 2nd Callum McDonald / 3rd Aidan McCusker
- U13B 1st Calum McLean / 2nd Robbie Nairn / 3rd Scott Malcolm
- U15B 1st Scott Henderson / 2nd equal Stephen Watson, Shawn Wright and Ruaridh McCusker / 3rd Liam MacKenzie
- U17M 1st Craig McDowall
- SM 1st Alistair Dalgleish / 2nd Michael Deegan

2. Annual Performance & Endeavour Trophies

Kieran Kilpatrick Best Newcomer Female Endeavour Alice Fisher Male Endeavour Stephen Watson Young Female Nikisha Wright Young Male Robbie Nairn Female Field Jillian Gisbey Male Field Matthew Thomson Female Track Amanda Campbell Male Track Craig McDowall Female Overall Club Champion Vicky Dalziel Male Overall Club Champion Alistair Dalgleish Presidents Cup Nancy Sneddon